News & Announcements

<< Return

2012 Convention was a Success - 2/27/2012

Top Officials Address Police Jury Association of Louisiana's 88th Annual Convention
More than 1,000 federal, state and local government officials gathered for the 88th Annual Police Jury Association Convention. This year's event was held in Terrebonne Parish at the Houma-Terrebonne Civic Center from February 23-25, 2012. Attendees were given Congressional and state updates on a variety of issues. They also visited with over 100 interest groups related to the day-to-day operations of parish government.

Elected and appointed officials such as Attorney General Buddy Caldwell, Congressmen Charles Boustany, Rodney Alexander, Jeff Landry and Bill Cassidy, Lt. Governor Jay Dardenne, Secretary of State Tom Schedler, Agriculture Commissioner Mike Strain, DEQ Secretary Peggy Hatch, DOTD Secretary Sherri LeBas, DNR Secretary Scott Angelle, GOHSEP Director Kevin Davis, and State Fire Marshall Butch Browning addressed the local government leaders during the three-day convention.

The convention was a special time for outgoing President Paul Naquin, Jr., of St. Mary Parish, as he hosted the successful convention. During the Saturday night banquet Naquin, Jr., passed the gavel to incoming President Gerald "Mike” McLeod of Beauregard Parish.

"At this critical time in our economic situation, it is vital that all public servants, from the local to the federal level, work hand-in-hand to assure a better future for those we serve,” says McLeod.

Topics of conversation ranged from redistricting, member services, state and federal budgets, local government financing, ethics, highway funding, tourism, emergency preparedness, drainage and the upcoming regular session of the Legislature.

Other officers installed at the annual banquet included 1st Vice President Melvin Haymon of Vernon Parish, 2nd Vice President Lisa Nelson of St. Martin Parish and 3rd Vice President David Cox of Caddo Parish. Other 2012-2013 executive board members include Cynthia Hedge-Morrell of Orleans Parish, John Young, Jr., of Jefferson Parish, Guy Cormier of St. Martin Parish, Mack Calhoun of Ouachita Parish, Gordon Burgess of Tangipahoa Parish, Francis Andrepont of Calcasieu Parish, Joe Bishop of Rapides Parish, Bernard Broussard of Iberia Parish, John Marceaux of Jefferson Davis Parish, Scott Perry, Jr., of Rapides Parish, Glenn Benton of Bossier Parish, Major Coleman of St. Helena Parish, Kenneth Epperson, Sr., of Caddo Parish, .

Also included on the executive board are past presidents including immediate past president Paul Naquin, Jr., Sandy Treme of Calcasieu Parish, Richard Billings of Rapides, and Timothy Roussel of St. James Parish. Bryan Beam of Calcasieu Parish was elected as the new President of the Organization of Parish Administrative Officials and Perry Holmes of Winn Parish as President of the Louisiana Parish Engineers and Supervisor's Association.


© Copyright 2018, Police Jury Association of LA. All rights reserved.