News & Announcements

<< Return

2013 Region VII - 9/18/2013

Elected and appointed officials from eight parishes gathered on Tuesday, September 17, 2013, for a meeting at the William E. Broussard Multi-Purpose Building in Jennings, LA. Jefferson Davis Parish hosted the meeting for members of the Police Jury Association. In addition to Jefferson Davis Parish, Region VII includes Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron Evangeline, and Vermilion.

Bryan Vidrine of Evangeline Parish was elected Region VII President for the upcoming year, along with the Vice President coming from Allen Parish. In addition, Evangeline's Don Bergeron was elected Secretary/Treasurer. Francis Andrepont of Calcasieu Parish was re-elected to serve as Region VII's State Executive Board Member.

Current Region VII's President John Marceaux of Jefferson Davis presided over the meeting and gave opening comments regarding the history of Jefferson Davis Parish. Lieutenant Governor Jay Dardenne was the guest speaker. Dardenne spoke about Louisiana tourism, historical facts, and interesting occurrences that are unique to Louisiana. He also brought attention to Hunger Awareness month. He stated he was very proud that 26.3 million people visited Louisiana this year which is more than any other year.

PJAL President Melvin Haymon of Vernon Parish also addressed the crowd. He thanked those in attendance for their continued support to the Police Jury Association and their constituents. He also invited them to attend the upcoming PJAL Annual Convention. In addition, Police Jury Association Executive Director Roland Dartez from Acadia Parish encouraged members to continue being active and gave a legislative update of the successful recent legislative session. Dartez also led the business session where three pre-filed resolutions and one resolution from the floor were adopted.


© Copyright 2018, Police Jury Association of LA. All rights reserved.