News & Announcements

<< Return

2013 Region III Meeting - 9/8/2013

Elected and appointed officials from nine parishes gathered on Thursday, September 5, 2013, for a meeting at Pat's Atchafalaya Club in Henderson, LA. St. Martin Parish hosted the meeting for members of the Police Jury Association. In addition to St. Martin Parish, Region III includes Assumption, Iberia, Iberville, Lafayette, Pointe Coupee, St. Landry, St. Mary and West Baton Rouge.

Russell Young of Pointe Coupee Parish was elected Region III President for the upcoming year, along with Warren Taylor of Iberville as Region III Vice President. In addition, Pointe Coupee's Jim Bello was elected Secretary/Treasurer. Guy Cormier was also re-elected to serve as Region III's State Executive Board Member.

Current Region III President Guy Cormier of St. Martin Parish presided over the meeting.One resolution from the floor passed in honor of remembrance for Mr. Lloyd "Red” Higginbotham's many years of service. Louisiana Public Service Commissioner of District 2 Scott Angelle was the guest speaker. He thanked those in service and said he knew what a selfless, full-time job it is to be public servant. He encouraged attendees to work closely with the state. District 22's Senator Fred H. Mills also addressed members of the Region III Meeting. Both Angelle and Mills remember Red Higginbotham's many years of service to the community and expressed their condolences for the loss of such a great man.

PJAL President Melvin Haymon of Vernon Parish also addressed the crowd. He thanked those in attendance for their continued support to the Police Jury Association and their constituents. He also invited attendees to the upcoming PJAL Convention in February. In addition, Police Jury Association Executive Director Roland Dartez led the business session and encouraged members to continue working hard for local issues. He also gave a legislative update of the PJAL's many accomplishments during the recent Legislative session.


© Copyright 2018, Police Jury Association of LA. All rights reserved.