News & Announcements

<< Return

2013 Region VIII Meeting - 8/23/2013

Elected and appointed officials from eight parishes gathered on Thursday, August 22, 2013, for a meeting at the Winnfield Civic Center in Winnfield, LA. Winn Parish hosted the meeting for members of the Police Jury Association. In addition to Winn Parish, Region VIII includes Avoyelles, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, LaSalle, Rapides, and Vernon.

Joe Bishop of Rapides Parish was elected Region VIII President for the upcoming year, along with Bobby Francis of LaSalle as Region VIII Vice President. In addition, Rapides' Bruce Kelly was elected Secretary/Treasurer. Joe Bishop of Rapides Parish was re-elected to serve as Region VIII's State Executive Board Member.

Current Region VIII President Doris Leeper from Winn Parish presided over the meeting.District 13 State Representative Jim Fannin and Off System Bridge Program Manager for LADOTD Gary Pentek were the guest speakers for the evening. Rep. Fannin encouraged members to keep working hard for their communities and gave an informative overview of where we were, where we are and where we are going in regards to funding in Louisiana. He encouraged those in attendance to stay in touch with their representatives and senators so they can better serve their constituents together. Mr. Pentek talked about how the Off System Bridge Program is funded and asked everyone to get involved. He said they need to stay engaged to continue moving forward with bridge projects in their areas. PJAL President Melvin Haymon of Veron Parish also addressed the crowd. He thanked those in attendance for their continued support to the Police Jury Association and invited them to attend the 90th Annual PJAL Convention in Baton Rouge this February. In addition, Police Jury Association Executive Director Roland Dartez gave a report of the PJAL's many accomplishments from the recent legislative session and led the business portion of the meeting.


© Copyright 2018, Police Jury Association of LA. All rights reserved.