News & Announcements

<< Return

2012 Region 7 Meeting - 9/13/2012

Region VII Meeting:

New President Elected

Elected and appointed officials from eight parishes gathered on Thursday, September 13, 2012, for a meeting at the Magdelan Place in Abbeville, LA. Vermilion Parish hosted the meeting for members of the Police Jury Association. In addition to Vermilion Parish, Region VII includes Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron Evangeline, and Jefferson Davis.

John P. Marceaux of Jefferson Davis Parish was elected Region VII President for the upcoming year, along with Bryan Vidrine of Evangeline Parish as Region VII Vice President. In addition, Jefferson Davis' Rebecca Gary was elected Secretary/Treasurer. Francis Andrepont of Calcasieu Parish was re-elected to serve as Region VII's State Executive Board Member.

Current Region VII's President Ronald Darby presided over the meeting. State Representative Bob Hensgen and Vermilion Parish Police Jury President Nathan Granger were the guest speakers. Rep. Hensgen spoke to members about state budget issues, capital outlay funding and parish roads/transportation. Pres. Granger spoke about economic development in the parish and land use policies for the parish. They both complimented members and stressed the importance of their involvement in the legislative process. Abbeville's Mayor Mark Piazza declared September 13, 2012, "Region VII Day.

PJAL President Mike McLeod of Beauregard Parish also addressed the crowd. He thanked those in attendance for their continued support to the Police Jury Association and their constituents. He also invited them to attend the upcoming PJAL Annual Convention. In addition, Police Jury Association Executive Director Roland Dartez from Acadia Parish encouraged members to continue being active and gave a legislative update of the successful recent legislative session. Dartez also commended Cameron Parish's Bonnie Conner on 35 years of service. The coordinator of Region VII's meeting, Linda Duhon, was commended for her job well done in planning the evening.


© Copyright 2018, Police Jury Association of LA. All rights reserved.