News & Announcements

<< Return

2012 Region 6 Meeting - 11/8/2012

Region VI Meeting:

New President Elected

Elected and appointed officials from nine parishes gathered on Thursday, November 8, 2012, for a meeting in Gonzales, LA. Ascension Parish hosted the meeting for members of the Police Jury Association. In addition to Ascension Parish, Region VI includes East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Washington and West Feliciana.

Patricia "Pat” Brister of St. Tammany Parish was elected Region VI President for the upcoming year, along with Kip Holden from East Baton Rouge Parish as Region VI Vice President. In addition, St. Tammany's Renee Elizabeth Roberts was elected to serve as Secretary/Treasurer. Gordon Burgess of Tangipahoa Parish was re-elected to serve as Region VI's State Executive Board Member.

Current Region VI President Tommy Martinez of Ascension Parish presided over the meeting.Paul Rainwater, Governor Jindal's Chief of Staff, was the guest speaker for the evening. Rainwater spoke of the difficulties Louisiana is faced with the 2013 budget. He also vowed the Parish Transportation would not be affected when the budget is determined during the upcoming session. He commended attendees for their continued hard work and looks forward to again working with parish government.

PJAL President Mike McLeod of Beauregard Parish also addressed the crowd. President McLeod thanked everyone for their continued dedication to the Association and also invited members and guests to attend the upcoming convention February 20-22, 2013, in Lake Charles. In addition, Police Jury Association Executive Director Roland Dartez led the business session and gave a legislative update from the most recent legislative session. He also thanked members for their hard work and devotion to public service.


© Copyright 2018, Police Jury Association of LA. All rights reserved.